Skip to main content

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of 7 elected and 9 appointed officers.

For the 2020-2021 term, they are: 

Elected Officers

thumbnail_QN-Profile.jpgPresident

Serves as Chair of both the GSA Executive Committee and Council, oversees the direction of the organization and ensures the execution of its responsibilities and commitments.

Quynh Nguyen (president@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biological Sciences & School of Medicine


victor-wang.jpgVice President of Academic Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Academic and Judicial Committee and as a representative to the Graduate Council and Representative Assembly of the Academic Senate, coordinates the annual Ph.D. Career Conference in conjunction with the Career Services Center, and appoints students to campus-wide academic committees.

Victor Wang (vpacademic@gsa.ucsd.edu): Chemistry


laura-chipman.jpgVice President of Campus Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Student Affairs Committee, works to improve various aspects of student life on campus, and appoints students to campus-wide committees dealing with such issues.

Laura Chipman (vpcampus@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biological Sciences


Adrian-Headshot.jpgVice President of External Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Legislative Advocacy Committee, coordinates the regular lobby efforts of the organization, and oversees the work of the Legislative Liaisons.

Julia Adrian (vpexternal@gsa.ucsd.edu): Cognitive Sciences


andy-ryan.pngVice President of Financial Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Finance Committee and oversees the finances of GSA.

Andy Ryan (vpfinance@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biological Sciences

 


headshot_mia.jpgVice President of Social Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Social Programming Committee, coordinates all GSA event planning, and works with the Social Coordinator to host GSA events.

Mia Rosenfeld (vpsocial@gsa.ucsd.edu): Chemistry & Biochemistry


burgundy.pngVice President of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Diversity Advisory Council, oversees the organization's outreach efforts, and works in support of campus diversity.

Burgundy Fletcher (vpequity@gsa.ucsd.edu): Ethnic Studies

 

Appointed Officers

Jack-headshot

Chief of Staff

Manages GSA council and appoints to committees. Acts as the liaison between the executives and council representatives (appointed by the President and VPs).

Jack Olmstead (chief@gsa.ucsd.edu): School of Medicine

 


Parliamentarian

Serves as the GSA Rules Officer in Council meetings

Image of Angua

Angus Chapman (parliamentarian@gsa.ucsd.edu): Psychology


Webmaster

Oversees GSA's email and website management

rachel-flanagan.jpg

Rachel Flanagan (it@gsa.ucsd.edu): Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering


Legislative Liaison for National Affairs

Develops legislative proposals, interacts with national representatives, and maintains relationships with NAGPS and SAGE (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

Image of Muhanad

Muhanad Shraiteh (us.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Bioengineering


Legislative Liaison for State Affairs

Develops legislative proposals and interacts with state and local representatives (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

Image of Adam

Adam Cooper (ca.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Atmospheric Chemistry


Legislative Liaison for Local Affairs

Develops legislative proposals and interacts with local representatives (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

Image of Andy

Andy Zhao (sd.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Materials Science


Social Events Coordinator

Organizes social programming, including happy hours (appointed by the VP Student and Campus Affairs).

Image of Aaron

Aaron McLeod (social@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biophysics & Biochemistry


Social Events Coordinator

Organizes social programming, including happy hours (appointed by the VP Student and Campus Affairs).

Image of Ryan

Ryan Tumminello,  (social@gsa.ucsd.edu): Chemistry & Biochemistry


Professional Development Coordinator

Works with Grad Divison and the Career services center to host GrAdvantage events and the PhD Career Conference (appointed by the VP of Academic Affairs).

Image of Viona

Viona Deconinck (professional@gsa.ucsd.edu): Visual Arts


Cultural Events Coordinator

Organizes cultural programming, including special event ticket sales (appointed by the VP of Social Affairs).

Image of Lulu

Lulu Pang (cultural@gsa.ucsd.edu): Global Policy and Strategy


Travel Grants Coordinator

Manages and coordinates the GSA Travel Grants program.

Image of Li-Yuan

Li-Yuan Chiang (travel@gsa.ucsd.edu): Electrical & Computer Engineering


Community Outreach Coordinator

Fosters relationships between graduate students at UCSD and the greater San Diego community, specifically those who belong to historically underrepresented and under-resourced communities in academia (appointed by the VP of EDI)

Image of Maria

Maria Rios-Mathioudakis (outreach@gsa.ucsd.edu): Fine Art


GSA Advisor

breana-headshot

Breana Clark 

bzclark@ucsd.edu