Skip to main content

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of 7 elected and 9 appointed officers.

For the 2017-2018 term, they are:

Elected Officers

rachel-flanagan.jpgPresident

Serves as Chair of both the GSA Executive Committee and Council, oversees the direction of the organization and ensures the execution of its responsibilities and commitments.

Rachel Flanagan (president@gsa.ucsd.edu): Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

 


Vice President of Academic Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Academic and Judicial Committee and as a representative to the Graduate Council and Representative Assembly of the Academic Senate, coordinates the annual Ph.D. Career Conference in conjunction with the Career Services Center, and appoints students to campus-wide academic committees.

VACANT (vpacademic@gsa.ucsd.edu):


Vice President of Campus Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Student Affairs Committee, works to improve various aspects of student life on campus, and appoints students to campus-wide committees dealing with such issues.

Valerie Saiag (vpcampus@gsa.ucsd.edu): Latin American Studies


Vice President of External Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Legislative Advocacy Committee, coordinates the regular lobby efforts of the organization, and oversees the work of the Legislative Liaisons.

Victor Wang (vpexternal@gsa.ucsd.edu): Chemistry


Vice President of Financial Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Finance Committee and oversees the finances of GSA.

Krish Bhutwala (vpfinance@gsa.ucsd.edu): Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering


Vice President of Social Affairs

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Social Programming Committee, coordinates all GSA event planning, and works with the Social Coordinator to host GSA events.

Alex Whitehead (vpsocial@gsa.ucsd.edu): Neuroscience


sushil-s.jpgVice President of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Diversity Advisory Council, oversees the organization's outreach efforts, and works in support of campus diversity.

Sushil S. (vpdiversity@gsa.ucsd.edu): Public Health

 

Appointed Officers

Chief of Staff

Manages GSA council and appoints to committees. Acts as the liaison between the executives and council representatives (appointed by the President and VPs).

Burgundy Fletcher (chief@gsa.ucsd.edu): Ethnic Studies


Parliamentarian

Serves as the GSA Rules Officer in Council meetings

Angus Chapman (parliamentarian@gsa.ucsd.edu): Psychology


Legislative Liaison for National Affairs

Develops legislative proposals, interacts with national representatives, and maintains relationships with NAGPS and SAGE (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

Quynh Nguyen (us.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biological Sciences


Legislative Liaison for State Affairs

Develops legislative proposals and interacts with state and local representatives (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

Ashley Schmidt (ca.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): GPS


Legislative Liaison for Local Affairs

Develops legislative proposals and interacts with local representatives (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

Julia Adrian (sd.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Cognitive Science


Social Events Coordinator

Organizes social programming, including happy hours (appointed by the VP Student and Campus Affairs).

Mia Rosenfeld (social@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biophysics/Biochemistry


Social Events Coordinator

Organizes social programming, including happy hours (appointed by the VP Student and Campus Affairs).

Jervaughn Hunter (social@gsa.ucsd.edu): Bioengineering


Professional Development Coordinator

Works with Grad Divison and the Career services center to host GrAdvantage events and the PhD Career Conference (appointed by the VP of Academic Affairs).

VACANT (professional@gsa.ucsd.edu):


Cultural Events Coordinator

Organizes cultural programming, including special event ticket sales (appointed by the VP of Social Affairs).

Lim Leong (cultural@gsa.ucsd.edu): Psychology


Travel Grants Coordinator

Manages and coordinates the GSA Travel Grants program.

Li-Yuan Chiang (travel@gsa.ucsd.edu): Electrical and Computer Engineering


Community Outreach Coordinator

Fosters relationships between graduate students at UCSD and the greater San Diego community, specifically those who belong to historically underrepresented and under-resourced communities in academia (appointed by the VP of EDI)

VACANT (outreach@gsa.ucsd.edu):